Department of Public Health · University of Basel


Departments of Medical Faculty at the University of Basel are defined as «research units, to which research groups organisationally belong.

The Department of Public health in the Faculty of Medicine is an interdisciplinary department with 2 full members (i.e. European Center of Pharmaceutical Sciences & Nursing Science), 1 associate member (i.e. Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute).

In addition, DPH has several other members with dual departmental affiliation, representing co-membership of the Department Clinical Research (Basel Clinical Epidemiology and Statistics, Evidence-Based Insurance Medicine, Institute of Primary Care Medicine) as well as Department of Exercise and Health Sciences. The interfaculty Institute of Biomedical Ethics is linked to the faculty of medicine through DPH.